Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or Staffcottonchipper Date: Dec 3, 2013 2:45pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Amalgam: A multilayered amalgamation of sound

Amalgam, an exploration of ambient electronic music is now available for download.

https://archive.org/details/AmalgamProject

The idea for Amalgam was inspired by the accidental act of listening to two streaming broadcasts of ambient music at the same time. The two broadcast streams worked quite well together and gave a hint at what is possible when combining two or more unrelated musical sources.

Twenty-four individual artists contributed tracks to the project and the tracks were layered to create two separate long-form ambient recordings (or “Sessions”). None of the contributing artists knew what other types of sounds their track might be paired with. At any point in the recordings, the sound the listener hears is a combination of two or more tracks that were created by different artists.

Below are each contributing artist’s name, the title of their track, the beginning and ending time of their track, and a link to where you can find more information about their other recordings.

Session One:

Total E.T. | Amalgamplitude | 0:00 | 8:41 | http://trivm.bandcamp.com/
Robert Scott Thompson | twilight resonance | 0:00 | 20:36 | http://robert-scott-thompson.bandcamp.com/
Another Neglected Hobby | Darker Black Light | 8:32 | 26:48 | http://anotherneglectedhobby.markcotton.com
Ars Sonor | Transient (Krya på dig!) | 19:44 | 28:24 | http://soundcloud.com/ars-sonor
nojoined | to the glory of god | 26:24 | 32:26 | http://www.arewrecordings.com/nojoined.html
Tuonela | Music to accompany a journey beneath the ice Part 2 | 28:00 | 40:28 | http://tuonela.bandcamp.com/
Alpha Wave Movement | Movement III | 32:16 | 44:37 | http://hrresonance.blogspot.com
The Implicit Order | Untitled | 40:16 | 45:57 | http://theimplicitorder.bandcamp.com/
Peter Davidson | Metal Eclipse | 44:32 | 50:24 | https://peterdavidson.bandcamp.com/
Robert Scott Thompson | Alighnment | 45:52 | 65:39 | http://robert-scott-thompson.bandcamp.com/
Utu Lautturi | Patja | 50:08 | 54:39 | https://soundcloud.com/utu-lautturi
Robert Scott Thompson | Drone Mix | 54:24 | 58:46 | http://robert-scott-thompson.bandcamp.com/
Mark Rushton | birdseed | 58:40 | 61:52 | http://markrushton.com/
Uropatwin | Relaxed Amalgamation | 60:32 | 70:27 | http://kpcmusic.bandcamp.com/
Plato Stems | surfacelight | 62:40 | 70:18 | https://soundcloud.com/platostems-1

Session Two:

Cloudwalk | Low Earth Orbit | 0:00 | 8:48 | http://www.soundcloud.com/paulmehlhaff
Robert Scott Thompson | Focus and Empowerment | 0:00 | 28:44 | http://robert-scott-thompson.bandcamp.com/
Kurt Bauer | 08 24 13 Northside Party | 3:12 | 27:48 | http://bangsnap.bandcamp.com/
Steve Gordon | how to explain pictures to a dead hare | 9:04 | 13:17 | http://bangsnap.bandcamp.com/
Fabio Keiner | Genesis | 15:28 | 23:29 | http://fabiokeiner.bandcamp.com/
Joe McMahon | Cinnabar | 23:26 | 39:46 | http://pemungkah.com/
Robert Scott Thompson | Metalized | 28:24 | 37:08 | http://robert-scott-thompson.bandcamp.com/
Mac of BIOnighT | Sounds of the Forgotten | 37:04 | 45:13 | http://www.macvibes.com/
Jack Hertz | Shakuhachi Dreams in Waves of Green | 36:00 | 61:29 | http://jackhertz.com/
I.N.R.I. | spice blow | 44:32 | 52:04 | https://soundcloud.com/m-scott-mcgahan
Pas de la Dame Sauvage | Brumous | 52:00 | 61:00 | http://pasdeladamesauvage.bandcamp.com/
Keith Spears | Abandoned | 58:40 | 66:00 | http://undercrypt.bandcamp.com/
Ron Shayler | Somber Mollusks v3 | 60:32 | 65:52 |